A new version of the feature will not allow recipients to take screenshot of the messages, reported WA Beta Info.
Recently, WhatsApp introduced a feature called ‘View Once,’ which lets users send photos and videos that, as the feature’s name implies, can be viewed only once. Also, after being opened by the recipient(s), the photo/video gets automatically deleted from the receiver’s chat.
Now, as per a report by WABetaInfo, the Meta-owned messaging platform is set to release a new version of View Once. Unlike the current version, the upcoming version will not allow users to take a screenshot of or record messages meant to be seen only once, the report said.
The update is available for beta testers who install the latest beta from the Play Store, the report further stated, adding that if the users do try to take a screenshot, the image will appear black. Even third-party extensions will not be able to help them take screenshot, it said.
However, since the new option will be limited only to photos and videos sent under View Once, recipients can continue to take screenshots of conversations even if these have disappearing messages.
WhatsApp’s ‘View Once’ feature
This option was introduced to offer more privacy to WhatsApp users. Under this, one cannot forward, export or save videos and images. However, the receiver may still take a photo using another mobile device.